Trevians become back-to-back debate champions at Niles Township Invitational

Debate Champions

Trevians become back-to-back debate champions at Niles Township Invitational

Niles, Ill. - The results are in from the first Debate Team competition this school year, and this season is looking promising for the Trevians.

New Trier seniors Celia Buckman and Connor Warshauer set the bar high for themselves when debating at the 2016 Niles Township Invitational from Sept. 9-11. As juniors last year, Buckman and Warshauer closed out the finals with now alumni AJ Byrne and Will Kirby. This year, they were named champions again after the final round panel's decision: 3-0 for the affirmative from New Trier.

The pair, Buckman and Warshauer, competed in a field of 76 teams from six states, finishing preliminary debates with a 6-0 record then winning four elimination rounds to be declared back-to-back champions. Both Buckman and Warshauer also finished as top 10 individual speakers out of 152 students. Although it was their first tournament of the year, their performance has already earned them one bid to the Tournament of Champions in April.

In all, the Trevian debate teams succeeded at the tournament, which was co-hosted by Niles North and Niles West high schools. New Trier advanced more teams to the elimination round than any other program, with five teams making it through the preliminary rounds. Sophomore/junior team Bennett Blake and Jack Brown finished preliminary debates with a 6-0 record before finishing in the top 16. Sophomore/senior team Josie Ewing and Jonathan Silverstein finished 5-1, also finishing in the top 16 teams. Sophomores Hannah Kadin and Lauren Wittenmeyer won four of six preliminary debates, as did the team of sophomores Richard Jo and Jackson Miller, all advancing to the elimination rounds.

This week, the team is competing at the Greenhill Fall Classic in Dallas, Texas. To stay up-to-date on the team's happenings, visit its Twitter page, @NewTrierDebate.