New Trier inducts 39 members into National Chinese Honor Society


The New Trier Chinese Language Program inducted 39 members into the National Chinese Honor Society on Thursday, April 25. In addition to excelling academically, inductees expanded their Chinese language practice beyond the walls of the Chinese classroom.

Established in 1993 to recognize accomplished high school students who study Chinese as a world language, the NCHS is a scholastic organization that promotes and recognizes students who demonstrate citizenship, leadership and community service. According to the NCHS website, the purpose of the National Chinese Honor Society is to encourage its members to become lifelong learners in order to gain a better understanding of Chinese language and culture, as well as to play an active role as a contributing global citizen in the 21st century.

At the induction ceremony, students showcased appreciation of Chinese language and culture through calligraphy, a tea ceremony, tongue twisters, poems, songs, dances and presentations. Senior NCHS members Carly Lewin, Natalie Ringel, Ben Sklansky and Zoey Spangler organized the program and emceed the ceremony.

The following students were inducted into the NCHS:

Luke Baldwin, Kayla Banh, Alec Bender, Francesca Caruso, Sara Chin, Emma Chipman, Ava Crowe, Kyle Evenson, Kate Fawcett, Kaeleigh Flannagan, Liam Fleming, Lillian Gaechter, Marc Hagist, Yida Hao, Tinah Hong, Will Kincaid, Alyssa Knaus, Margaret Lasonde, Connor Lee, Ray Li, Terrence Mayday, Janey Matejka, Kevin McCarthy, James McColl, Claire Melgard, Diego Mendoza, BJ Moses-Rosenthal, Julia Nagel, Billy Nayman, Joshua Oh, William Pegg, David Peng, Emily Rhee, Grace Smith, Jack Stein, Ellie Sullivan, Monica Yoo, Jonathan Yuan, Renee Zhou.