New Trier students’ works featured in area exhibits this spring

Art Awards

Senior Art Exhibition

Eight New Trier seniors won awards at the opening reception for the Senior Scholarship Juried Art Exhibit in late March 2019, which was on display in the school's Winnetka Campus Brierly Gallery.

Open to any senior art student at New Trier, students selected their best four works of art and wrote an artist statement to hang in the gallery. The Art Department brought in outside jurors to select the senior award winners, and the North Shore Art League selected their own scholarship winners.

Senior Emma Osuna received the Nancy Joyce Murray Award, named after a New Trier sophomore who had dreams of becoming a professional artist, but whose life was cut short by a drunk driver.

"[Osuna's] photos are very compelling," jurors said. "They draw in the viewer and make them want to look closer at the detail of the organized chaos. There is a lot of humor and the compositions are very strong." Osuna won a Dick Blick gift card, and her name will be added to a plaque along with one of her artworks for permanent display in the school.

Senior Lyla Simonds received the Ann Brierly Scholarship, which was selected by the Art Department. Brierly was a passionate and committed artist who was accepted to study art at the University of Wisconsin but was killed by a drunk driver before she could attend. In honor of Brierly's spirit, the Art Department presents the award to a deserving, passionate, hard-working senior as validation of their talent and effort. When Ann's mother died, she left a trust in her estate to continue the annual scholarship for another 10 years.

The RISD Book Award, also chosen by the New Trier Art Department, was given to Samantha Wert based on her effort and achievement in the arts. The award is chosen based on overall academic achievement and student's creativity and talent.

Seniors Sophie Elliott, Eva Shnaiden, Annie Halpin, and Michael Reap received Distinction Awards. According to jurors, Elliott's work was, "powerful with great technique," and Shnaiden's work was described as "an excellent, highly-detailed architectural drawing layered with disordered texture." Halpin showed "strong technique with powerful message bearing," and Reap displayed "natural illustrative technique."

The Nancy and Sanfred Koltun Scholarship, which is judged and presented by the Northshore Art League, was split between Annie Halpin and Katherine Harvey.

Congressional Art Competition

Three New Trier students were selected for the 38th annual Congressional Art Competition, An Artistic Discovery , a nationwide art competition designed to showcase and reward the creative talents of America's gifted young artists. Since this competition was created in 1982, hundreds of thousands of high school students have participated at the local level across the country.

Freshman Nora Pu was selected for her blue toned, silver gelatin print, "Hope." Freshman Owen McClellen was selected for his digital photography, "Sunrise with a Lensball," and sophomore Audrey Tir was selected for her oil pastel, "My Everyday Expression."

Sender School Art Exhibit

From April 22-26, New Trier High School exhibited student artwork from participating sender schools, which included over 200 pieces of art from Wilmette Jr. High School, Marie Murphy, St. Joseph School, Faith, Hope and Charity, Joseph Sears School, Carleton Washburne School, Central School and Sacred Heart School.

Media in the show included photography, painting, drawing, ceramics, glass and sculpture.

31st Annual Central Suburban League Student Art Exhibit

More than 650 visual art works from 12 area high schools were on display from April 11-20 at The Art Center in Highland Park. The non-competitive show began in 1988 as an opportunity to celebrate the strong visual arts programs in each of the Central Suburban League schools and highlights artworks in all media from each of the participating consortium high schools, including: Deerfield, Evanston, Glenbrook North, Glenbrook South, Highland Park, Maine East, Maine South, Maine West, New Trier, Niles North, Niles West and Vernon Hills.

New Trier students whose artwork was selected for this year's show are:

Kailyn Alani, Bella Lopez Alberola, Adrian Araujo, Clark Bickford, Bridget Boyle, Sloane Chambers, Ryan Coe, Annika Coleman, Caroline Davis, Lucia Dunne, Greta Eggemeyer, Marlee Fradkin, Rachel Glucksman, Sherry Han, Annie Hayes, Catherine Hensel, Beatrice Hooper, Amanda Hutson, Jonna Izenstark, Millie James, Brianna Karras, David Kherson, Katie Klassen, Lilli Von Kunhardt, Alea Lerner, Emma LeBihan, Laura Lien, John McCue, Owen McClellan, Nelson May, Owen Martello, Julia Nagel, Alex Nagel, Alice Neild, Lidia Orta, Ryan O'Rourke, Maya Palomino, Helen Peterson, Maria Pinos, Nora Pu, Margaret Rennie, Catherine Richards, Morgan Rover, Nilas Schneekloth, Leah Schmidt, Bridget Sergesketter, Paulina Smale, AJ Stephens, Emilia Tshilds, Ekaterina Tsytsarina, Nicoletta Vlahos, Molly Warden, Emmy Werd, Daisy Zirlin, and Renee Zhou