National German Honor Society 2019

New Trier German Honor Society

22 new members were inducted into the New Trier German Honor Society this past Tuesday, May 14.

Delta Epsilon Phi (ΔΕΦ) National Honor Society for High School Students of German recognizes the outstanding academic achievement of learners of German. The organization was founded in 1968 by Käthe Wilson at Coral Gables High School (FL), a devoted AATG member, to reward scholastic achievement in the study of German and to promote interest in the study of German language, literature, and civilization. To be eligible for induction, students must have completed three semesters of German with a 3.6 grade point average in German and have an overall grade point average of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.

The program for the evening included performances of two students: Maggie Cao with her violin piece "Konzert in G Dur" by Joseph Haydn, and Hannah Sheridan, reciting the poem "Er ist's" by Eduard Möricke. Maggie also told the group about her wonderful experience as a winner of the Study Trip Award to Germany. A special Guest of Honor, the Deputy Consul General of Germany, Dr. Andreas Götze, joined the ceremony to say a few remarks and inspire New Trier German students to continue with their German studies.

The newly inducted members of Gamma Gamma, the Illinois Chapter of the Delta Epsilon Phi are: Matthew Clark, Alexander George, Hina Kadono, Benjamin Kunkle, Arden Martini, Leah Schmidt, John Schwartz, Hannah Sheridan, Michael Tarbet, Benjamin Boll, Grant Laczkowski, Alea Lerner, Ric Vandergraaf, Ryan Rittner, Alexis Rosenberg, Caroline Siebert, Isabella Fehle, Anna Hinrichs, Brianna Hinrichs, Alina Scholz, Finja Scholz, and Mark von den Steinen.

At the ceremony, the MCL department also recognized German students from the Class of 2019 who have earned the Seal of Biliteracy: Abbi Baran, Liesel Dolce, Trevin Hernandez, Kathryn Kurt, Miriam Rovin, Katherine Simons, and Florian Vining.

Congratulations to all of these students and their impressive achievements!